TEST to main content First level navigation Menu
Ottawa Fertility Clinic Hero

Case Study: Ottawa Fertility Centre

Automated scanning of patient medical information.

Ottawa Logo
 
 

The Challenge

 

The Challenge

 
ottawa fertility clinic
The Ottawa Fertility Centre (OFC) had converted many of its medical records to electronic format. The challenge was to effectively and securely integrate the more than 250 paper-based documents and other information the OFC receives by fax, mail and courier every day.

Converting documents would ensure that they could be stored more securely on the Centre’s Electronic Medical Record system (EMR). However the OFC had limited resources to carry out the conversion on a daily basis.
 
The OFC needed to ensure that paper records conversion was done so in an error free manner, were associated with the right patient and ended up on the EMR where the right physician could access the right information at the right time. 
 
 

“Ricoh demonstrated that the company had automated scanning and data workflow solutions that could grow with our needs.”

Mark Evans
Managing Director
Ottawa Fertility Centre

 
 
 

Solution

 

Solution

 
 

Ricoh used an advanced image capture solution to automate the electronic capture of patient information and to store captured information on the OFC’s EMR system.

 
 

Using Ricoh's advanced imaging solution, Ricoh Canada’s Professional Services Team designed custom scripts to facilitate communication to and from OFC’s EMR system. 

 

  • The Ricoh solution connects scanned information to the Patient Name or Demographic ID and to the document type or document name, as determined by the OFC scanning operator.
  • Documents are then routed to the appropriate physician network folder as required. The EMR database is then updated to indicate the document has been scanned, where it is located and the information contained within the document.
 

About The Ottawa Fertility Centre

The Ottawa Fertility Centre (OFC) provides comprehensive fertility services within a state-of-the-art facility and through its team of highly experienced physicians, nurses and scientists. The OFC offers quality care and services in one location, with an emphasis on the safety and well-being of patients. 

 
 
 

Results

The advanced capture solution and customized database scripts have allowed the clinic to realize enhanced workflows, higher levels of accuracy, greater throughput of scanned and electronic documents and Health Level 7 (HL7) compliant integration with the EMR system.
 
With Ricoh’s electronic storage system, only authorized individuals see documents, and the OFC can audit electronic access to all retrieved documents.
 
The automated system cut manual scanning time from what would have taken a full day, every day, to about three hours per day.

First level navigation Menu
Ottawa Fertility Clinic Hero

Étude de cas : Centre de fertilité d’Ottawa

Automatiser la numérisation des données médicales des patients.

Ottawa Logo
 
 

Défi

 

Défi

 
Le Centre de fertilité d’Ottawa (CFO) avait converti plusieurs de ses dossiers médicaux au format électronique. Le défi consistait à intégrer de façon efficace et sécuritaire plus de 250 documents et autres informations sur papier reçus quotidiennement par télécopieur, par la poste et par messagerie au CFO.

Convertir les documents permettrait de faire en sorte qu’ils seraient archivés de façon plus sécuritaire dans le système de gestion de dossiers médicaux électroniques (ERM) du Centre. Cependant, le CFO avait des ressources limitées pour réaliser la conversion sur une base quotidienne.

Le CFO devait s’assurer que la conversion des dossiers papier se faisait sans erreurs, que les documents étaient associés au bon patient et qu’ils apparaissaient dans le DME, là où le bon médecin pourrait accéder à la bonne information au moment opportun.
 
 

« Ricoh a démontré que l’entreprise avait des solutions automatisées de numérisation et de flux de données qui pouvaient s'adapter à nos besoins ».

Mark Evans
Directeur général
Centre de fertilité d’Ottawa

 
 
 

Solution

 

Solution

 
 

Ricoh a utilisé une solution de saisie d’image avancée pour automatiser la saisie électronique des renseignements des patients et pour archiver les renseignements saisis dans le système DME du CFO.

 
 

Grâce à l’utilisation de la solution d’imagerie avancée de Ricoh, l’équipe des services professionnels de Ricoh Canada a conçu des scripts personnalisés afin de faciliter la communication avec le système DME du CFO. 

 

  • La solution Ricoh associe l’information numérisée au nom du patient ou au numéro d’identité démographique ainsi qu'au type ou au nom de document, comme il a été établi par l’opérateur de numérisation du CFO.
  • Les documents sont ensuite acheminés au dossier réseau du médecin approprié le cas échéant. La base de données de DME est par la suite mise à jour pour indiquer que le document a été numérisé, où il est situé ainsi que l’information contenue dans ce document.
 

À propos du Centre de fertilité d’Ottawa

Le Centre de fertilité d’Ottawa (CFO) offre des services complets de fertilité dans une installation à la fine pointe de la technologie et à l’aide d’une équipe composée de médecins, d’infirmières et de scientifiques extrêmement expérimentés. Le CFO offre des services et des soins de qualité en un seul emplacement, avec un accent sur la sécurité et le bien-être des patients.
 
 
 

Résultats

La solution de saisie avancée et les scripts de base de données personnalisés ont permis à la clinique de réaliser de meilleurs flux de travaux, un plus grand niveau d’exactitude, un meilleur débit des documents numérisés et électroniques ainsi qu’une intégration au système DME conforme au protocole Health Level 7 (HL7).

Grâce au système d’archivage électronique de Ricoh, seules les personnes autorisées voient les documents, et le CFO peut vérifier l’accès électronique de tous les documents qui ont été récupérés.

Le système automatisé a permis de réduire le temps de traitement manuel qui était de près d’une journée complète de travail, tous les jours, à environ trois heures par jour.