TEST to main content First level navigation Menu
Alphagraphics lady with color swatches

Case Study: Alphagraphics (La Grange Park, IL) 

See how Alphagraphics partnered with Ricoh to improve its production print services

Alphagraphics logo




Alphagraphics man at computer with color swatches

For over 20 years, the La Grange Park, IL location of Alphagraphics built a loyal customer base on providing timely, reliable service. 

However, numerous service issues with their production printer threatened that reputation. Dealing with their vendor's cumbersome repair process took team members away from client consulting and other revenue-generating tasks. Also, colour inconsistencies and the printer’s slow speed cut deeply into the profitability of many print jobs.

Although we didn’t have a pre-existing relationship with Alphagraphics, Ricoh reps periodically checked in. When the lease on their equipment was set to expire, discussions became more serious about how we could help. After being impressed by what they heard, it was time to see what our equipment could do in person.


"As a family-owned, full-service print provider, we have to do more than promise results. We have to deliver them. With Ricoh, we have more control in the process, so we can complete print jobs on time, with outstanding quality every time."

Dave Schnell
Production Manager and Digital Specialist
Alphagraphics Franchise La Grange Park, IL. 






A team from Alphagraphics visited our Lisle, IL field office to see if our RICOH Pro C901 Graphics Arts+ printing system and RICOH Pro 8100s black-and-white production MFP were up to their standards.

After doing runs on normal and heavier paper stocks and comparing the results with their machine and ones from other vendors, Alphagraphics decided to acquire both printers.

What also helped us stand out are our Ricoh Trained Customer Replaceable Units (TCRUs). These allow their technicians to replace drums, rollers and fusing units themselves — saving the client time and money.


About Alphagraphics (La Grange Park, IL)

Even though it runs nearly 300,000 prints through its production devices every month, the La Grange Park, Illinois franchise of Alphagraphics is more than a print shop. For more than 20 years, the family-run company provided consultation and marketing services to help its customers grow their businesses.



Alphagraphics is now printing at a higher quality in less time and for less money — leading to more jobs moving through the print center and increased profits. The devices performed so well that:

  • Jobs moved from offset presses to the Ricoh machines.
  • Integrating variable data printing (VDP) led to increased revenue-generating business.

And when it comes to maintenance, Alphagraphics doesn’t have to contact our service teams often — the devices are durable, and their technicians can perform many of the tasks themselves. We largely just make sure they have the needed replacement parts, such as drums, toner and fusing units, in time to meet regular maintenance cycles. Being more self-sufficient has helped them meet deadlines easier and perform jobs quicker.

First level navigation Menu
Alphagraphics lady with color swatches

Étude de cas : Alphagraphics (La Grange Park, IL) 

Apprenez comment Alphagraphics a pu améliorer ses services d’impression avec l’aide de Ricoh

Alphagraphics logo
 
 

Défi

 

Défi

 
Alphagraphics man at computer with color swatches

Depuis plus de 20 ans, la franchise d’Alphagraphics à La Grange Park bénéficie d’une clientèle fidèle en offrant un service rapide et fiable. 

Toutefois, de nombreux problèmes liés à leur imprimante de production menaçaient cette réputation. Le processus de réparation laborieux que demandait leur fournisseur d’imprimante empêchait souvent les membres de l’équipe de fournir des services de consultation à leurs clients et d’être productifs. Aussi, le manque d’uniformité des couleurs et la faible vitesse de l’imprimante diminuaient la rentabilité de nombreux travaux d’impression.

Bien que nous n’entretenions pas de relation avec Alphagraphics à ce moment-là, des représentants de Ricoh s’informaient régulièrement sur sa situation. Lorsqu’ils ont appris que son contrat de location allait bientôt prendre fin, ils ont commencé à discuter sérieusement de la façon dont Ricoh pouvait contribuer à l’entreprise. Ce qu’a appris Alphagraphics l’a si impressionnée qu’elle a voulu constater directement les capacités de notre équipement.

 
 

« En tant que centre d’impression familial de service complet, nous ne pouvons nous contenter de garantir d’excellents résultats; nous devons les fournir. Avec Ricoh, nous avons une plus grande maîtrise du processus d’impression, ce qui nous permet d’exécuter dans les délais des travaux d’une qualité
exceptionnelle. »

Dave Schnell
Production Manager and Digital Specialist
Alphagraphics Franchise La Grange Park, IL. 

 
 
 

Solution

 

Solution

 
 

Une équipe d’Alphagraphics a donc visité notre bureau à Lisle en Illinois pour vérifier que notre système d’impression Pro C901 Graphic Arts + de RICOH et l’appareil MFP de production noir et blanc Pro 8100s de RICOH répondaient à ses besoins. 

 
 
Elle a d’abord effectué quelques impressions sur du papier régulier et plus épais pour ensuite comparer les résultats à ceux de leur imprimante actuelle ainsi qu’à ceux des autres concurrents. Enfin, Alphagraphics a fait l’achat des deux appareils.

Nos modules remplaçables par l’utilisateur qualifié (TCRU) nous ont également aidées à nous démarquer. Ces modules permettent aux techniciens de remplacer eux-mêmes les tambours, les rouleaux et les unités de fusion, ce qui rapporte au client des économies de temps et d’argent.

 
 

À propos d’Alphagraphics  (La Grange Park, IL)

La franchise d’Alphagraphics à La Grange Park en Illinois effectue mensuellement près de 300 000 impressions à l’aide de ses imprimantes de production, et pourtant il est beaucoup plus qu’un centre d’impression. Depuis plus de 20 ans, l’entreprise familiale offre des conseils et des services de marketing afin d’aider ses clients à faire croître leur entreprise.

 
 

Résultats

Les impressions d’Alphagraphics sont maintenant d’une qualité supérieure et s’effectuent de façon plus rapide et rentable, ce qui a entraîné davantage de commandes de même qu’une hausse des profits. Or, les appareils ont si bien fonctionné que :

  • Les travaux ont été transférés des appareils offset à ceux de Ricoh ;
  • L’introduction de l’impression de données variables (VDP) a permis une augmentation des travaux rentables.


En ce qui a trait à l’entretien, Alphagraphics n’a pas souvent besoin de contacter nos équipes de service — les appareils sont durables et leurs techniciens peuvent effectuer eux-mêmes un grand nombre des tâches de réparation. Nous assurons principalement l’envoi des pièces de rechange, telles que les tambours, le toner et les unités de fusion, en fonction des cycles d’entretien réguliers. Cet accroissement de son autonomie a aidé l’entreprise à respecter ses délais et à réaliser plus rapidement ses travaux.